Now open: GLASS treasures from MMA collection

Muskegon Museum of Art presents GLASS Treasures from the Permanent Collection, a spectacular and immersive glass experience through November 29, 2020. The L.C. and Margaret Walker Galleries have been transformed into a dynamic and vibrant display of translucent color (and sound!) with works from our incredible collection of vintage and modern glass. This is a very rare opportunity to experience the impressive entirety of the MMA’s fine art glass.

Works by the artists that defined the studio glass movement, including Dale Chihuly, Harvey Littleton, and Marvin Lipofsky join works by today’s new masters. The exhibition also highlights collections of vintage Tiffany and Steuben lamps and glasswork alongside pieces from the pioneering days of contemporary studio glass.

Four decades of studio glass collecting and working with established artists allows us to share the changing nature of this special medium—one that captures the imagination unlike any other. Because of the size of our permanent collection of paintings, sculpture, prints, and photography (along with our aggressive schedule of presenting 16-20 rotating exhibitions annually), we simply do not have space to display more than a few spectacular examples of glass at a time.

This exhibition also celebrates the legacy of C. Corcoran “Corky” Tuttle and her husband Robert Tuttle, who introduced the museum to studio glass and helped guide our collecting. Without their knowledge and generosity (and continued dedication of their children), this collection of treasures would not have been possible.

GLASS: Treasures from the Permanent Collection is the cornerstone of the Shaping the Future, Celebrating the Past exhibition project that devotes all the MMA galleries to presenting as much of our incredible permanent collection as possible.

GLASS Treasures is underwritten by DTE Energy Foundation, Fifth Third Bank, Hines Corp., Nichols, Lorin, Northern Trust, Rehmann, Anonymous, and GLASS SHAPERS: Don & Nancy Crandall, Tim & Anne Erickson, Floyd & Caron Farmer, Patricia Flynn, Steven & Caroline Mayberry, Garry & Charlotte Olson, Vance & Deborah Smith.